Management Committee


Herman Botes
Tshwane University of Technology


Desiree Smal
University of Johannesburg

Past President

Sue Giloi
Inscape Education Group


Helen Bührs
Inscape Education Group

Committee members

  • Helen Bührs - Inscape Education Group
  • Philippa Kethro - Durban University of Technology
  • Monica Di Ruvo - Cape Penninsula University of Technology
  • Inge Economou - Nelson Mandela University
  • Gail Henning - Inscape Education Group
  • Prof. Deidre Pretorius - University of Johannesburg
  • Mike Swanepoel - Nelson Mandela University
  • Ivor Templer - Greenside Design Centre
  • Ria van Zyl - Vega School

Senate members

  • Amanda Breytenbach
    University of Johannesburg
  • Colin Daniels
    Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Mel Hagen
    Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Thinus Mathee
    Vaal University of Technology
  • Ian Sutherland
    Durban University of Technology
  • Adrienne Viljoen
    SABS Design Institute

DEFSA conferences

DEFSA promotes relevant research with the focus on design + education through its biennial conferences, to promote professionalism, accountability and ethics in the education of young designers

Design Educators of South Africa...

With your support & active membership, the Design Educators Forum of Southern Africa can positively influence the young designer's formative training and promote all facets of design across Africa